Early-Spring Morn

Inspired by Bstete’s Pixelventures, at We Drink Because We’re Poets, this challenge gives us the task of incorporating a poem inspired by a picture.

 

Winter

 

 

 

Early-Spring Morn

The morning creeps in on an early-spring morn

Icicles drip, they melt, now weak and well-worn

Sun fighting; so brilliant, after asleep for such time

The birds hailing the springtime, in their delightful, sweet chime

Yet once again frost finds hits way to the window

Birds pleading their love song from a lone, farm-house spindle

Clouds furious, raging bellowing more

Snow turning to rain, unable to close spring’s door

Ice again melting, losing the battle

Birds questioning song, are they beloved or chattel

Sprouts peaking their noses from a frost-bitten ground

Birthing their beauty beneath, with never a sound

We wait, oh we wait, will you not come dear spring?

With days full of sunlight, what joy shall you bring!

I long for the laughter of children outside

Pregnant blossoms of spring, opening wide

14 thoughts on “Early-Spring Morn

  1. Pingback: Pixelventure Photo Finish! – April 9, 2014 | We Drink Because We're Poets

  2. This is my first time seeing your blog. Great photo! Your poem has good, strong images and sets a tone that matches the photo. You have a way with words. If I could offer one suggestion, it would be that you could make things even stronger by closer attention to rhythm. Thanks for sharing your talent with everyone.

    • Thank you so very, very much for your kind words, encouragement and advice. I am, very much an amateur poet that just writes to get the words within me out.
      I do value improvement over the years, so I appreciate your advice and will pay further attention. I have come to realize that sometimes what will sound right as we are composing a poem, later will not flow the same way to a reader.

      Thank you and warmest regards,

      Easter

  3. I don’t even know the way I stopped up right here, however I thought this submit was great.
    I don’t realize who you might be however certainly you’re going to a famous blogger in case you are not already.
    Cheers!

    • Thank you for your very sweet comment. Please forgive me for being so late in replying, however I was quite ill for some time and just getting back into the routine of writing again.

      Blessings,

      Easter

I love hearing from you :)

